Kid Cudi and the Battle With Depression

I’m not a big hip hop fan to say the least- and I don’t even follow Kid Cudi on any type of social media, however, a friend of mine had shared a status update he had posted and as I took the time to read it I realized Kid Cudi and I are quite similar.

You can read the whole post here – it’s both very sad and moving.

Many celebrities who suffer from depression have reached out to Cudi about his decision to be so open with his depression.

One of my favorites Pete Wentz left a nice tweet for Cudi saying: @KidCudi speaking out and letting the world see your humanity is inspiring- always got your back my dude…

Cudi expressed his grief with is depression, but this is nothing new. Earlier in the year Cudi was interviewed by Billboard and had openly admitted to a constant struggle he was having with depression. Not only was he so open about his mental illness but also admitted to using drugs to cope with his afflictions. Cudi is very open about how he feels about the music industry, and the people around him. This goes back to a previous post when I discussed how celebrities are so easily victims of mental illness. The people surrounding them, most of the time, are not genuine- and this leads them to a feelings of sadness and hopelessness.

Cudi says in his interview with Billboard that he has “everything”  he would possibly need and lives a life with stability- but with his depression it was like he was living a nightmare. No matter what you have, depression will find a way to negate all that, and bring you right back down where you were. Cudi spent a lot of time hiding his depression, and said in his Billboard interview…”So it was better getting it out than to keep it bottled up. [Someone dealing with or getting through depression] is a message kids need to hear. Some people deal with things and it takes them a little longer. Being in the public eye is tough.” This stands true for even him.

Cudi said a lot of things in his Facebook post, it all made sense and stuck out to me.

“I deserve to have peace. I deserve to be happy and smiling. Why not me? I guess I give so much of myself to others I forgot that I need to show myself some love too. I think I never really knew how. Im scared, im sad, I feel like I let a lot of people down and again, Im sorry. Its time I fix me. Im nervous but ima get through this.”

Classic feelings of depression, giving your all to others and feeling like there is nothing coming in return. However, now that I am aware of this I will follow Kid Cudi and hope that he finds his peace in his illness, something everyone deserves, depressed or not. If new details come about I will be posting about this again- everyone out there, stay strong.

One thought on “Kid Cudi and the Battle With Depression

Leave a Reply

